Posted by: Staff | 12.16.2008

The Waiting Game–College Advice from an Insider

JAKE KRINGDON ’09

As an early decision applicant, I have become increasingly anxious as more and more seniors begin to hear from colleges. As of right now, there are quite a few seniors who have received good news from schools. So, congratulations to all of you who have been accepted to colleges, even if they weren’t necessarily your first choice. Look at it this way; you’ve nailed one school down! And for those who have yet to hear, like myself, try not to worry about it. Although this is definitely easier said than done, do your best to occupy your mind with other thoughts. Unfortunately, however, it seems that wherever you may find yourself on a given day, your peers are constantly talking about college and their anticipation for their early decision notification on December 15th. For some unlucky souls, like me, notifications will not be received until “mid-December.” I don’t know about the rest of you, but this whole idea of the very vague “mid-December” makes me particularly nervous. I’m the type of guy who needs to know the specifics of any and every thing. I want to know that my early decision notification will be waiting in my mailbox on “such and such” day and at “such and such” time. For those of you who say that “mid-December” is the same as December 15th, boy are you wrong. My sister who applied early decision to Bowdoin was told that she would receive notification of her status by “mid-December.” Well, “mid-December” turned out to be December 20th…case and point! Okay, okay, I’m sorry. I’m probably only making your anxiety worse, but I guess I’m just trying to be realistic with all of you.
Anyway, congratulations once again to those who have received good news from schools! All of your hard work at the Beav has finally paid off! And to those still waiting to hear, hang in there and keep your chin up!

Leave a Reply

Categories

