Posted by: Staff | 01.26.2009

Dribbling with the Furr

logan-furr-2
The Beaver Varsity Basketball team has had a great start to the season. They are 4-4 in league play and are 2-2 in tournament. After losing leading scorer, Ephraim Herskovitz, the team looked to find a new director of the court. Logan Furr, team captain, has stepped up and fulfilled the role of team leader.

TS: When did you start playing basketball?
LF: Probably in first grade in a rec-league for Sharon. My team was always pretty bad though.

TS: What position do you play?
LF: Guard

TS: Is basketball your favorite spectator sport?
LF: Yes and so is football.

TS: Is this sport your favorite sport to play?
LF: Definitely

TS: As captain, what are some goals you have for the team?
LF: I have two main goals for the team: to win the EIL championship and NEPSACs for class D.

TS: What do you predict your record to be?
LF: I think we’ll be a little above 500. We have 29 games, so probably 20 wins 9 losses.

TS: Do any members of the team remind you of Celtics players?
LF: Not really. The closest resemblance would have to be Kendall and Rondo.

TS: What is, or will be, your favorite memory during your BCDS basketball career?
LF: The Pingree game last year. It was a lot of fun. We had a lot of fans, and it was a good game. Hopefully, it will be when we beat Brimmer and May today.

TS: Are you playing basketball outside of school?
LF: I played on an AAU team, the Middlesex Magic, last year, but I am too old now to play AAU.

TS: When did you start to become the player you are today?
LF: Probably this year because last year I did not have that much pressure on me since Ephie was on the team. I wasn’t needed to score as much. So this year I needed to step it up.

TS: What NBA team would you play for if you had the choice?
LF: Obviously I would take any team, but if I had the choice I would choose the Detroit Pistons because they are my favorite team, the Celtics because Boston is my home town, or the Miami Heat because it would be fun to live in Miami. I have a lot of family in Ft. Lauderdale/

TS: Who is your favorite NBA player?
LF: Chauncey Billups or Sebastian Telfair.

TS: Who has been the most influential coach, player, or family member on your basketball career?
LF: There are many people who have influenced me throughout my career, there really are too many to name but some of them are my parents, coach Goldberger, and Ephie. Ephie influenced me to work harder both on the basketball court and in the classroom. He set a good example for me, and is a reason I try hard today. As for my biggest inspiration, it’s all of the people who have ever doubted me. There are too many people to name, but they are what fuel me to work hard and never take a day off.

TS: Do you see basketball in your future in anyway?
LF: Hopefully. I would like to be an agent in the NBA or something along the lines of that. I would do anything I could with basketball.

Best of luck to Logan and the basketball team this season.

Leave a Reply

Categories

