Posted by: Staff | 05.21.2009

Rent: School Edition an unprecedented success

After last year’s spring musical, Dreamgirls, few believed that BCDS could match the same level of success and entertainment this year.  However, the Upper School production of Rent: School Edition sold out all four of its shows (a Beaver first), and was met with high praise.  In fact, it was not rare to see audience members in tears.  One such attendee, Middle School English teacher Jon Greenberg, wrote the following letter to cast members, a perfect example of the overall community reaction.

Last night I left your show, got into my car and cried for five minutes. While you know I’m rarely at a loss for words, I am unable to tell you exactly why. Words like “proud” and “awed” don’t do justice to what I felt. The experience was far more profound for me to capture in words.

But I’m going to try.

 

I know not how many layers deep your understanding of the play runs, how much you have thought about the fact that Angel’s beauty comes not from her outfits or outrageousness, but from his freedom, or that Mimi and Roger’s wounds are as much self inflicted by charcter flaws as they are caused by bourgeoise society, but I do know that it doesn’t matter because of the raw emotion your collective performances inspired. When Angel died I cried (again); that’s what defines great theater.  It’s as simple as that.

From the supporting players flawless foundation to the featured actors astounding demonstration of talent, Rent blew me away. It made me proud to be at Beaver. I drove home last night cradling that pride and reflecting on my own experience at the school.(That’s another aspect of great theater: an experience that makes you look at yourself in the mirror and forces introspection about the choices one makes in a life). The night left me wanting to be a better teacher, a better person. You folks did that for me last night.

I could laud your individual performances, but that that would contradict the ensemble spirit that the show embodied. You were all astounding.

Thank you for sharing your talent, spirit and commitment with us all. You make us all better.

Thanks again,

JG

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

