Posted by: Staff | 10.22.2009

Book Review: The Hunger Games


The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins tells a story set thousands of years after the world as we know it has come to an end. What is left of North America is called Panem. Panem was originally spilt into thirteen districts, all ruled by Capital. When one of the districts rebelled, Capital eliminated the land and all the audacious people that called it home. From then on, The Hunger Games were held every year. The games took two people, a boy and a girl, between the ages of twelve and eighteen from each district to fight each other to death in a televised event called, “The Hunger Games.” There can only be one winner, the one lone survivor.

When the spunky Katniss Everdeen volunteers to take her sister Prim’s place in the games she believes she is facing a certain death. But as time goes on and Katniss makes a few interesting allies, things begin to change. As the gamemakers cruelly put the contenders in situations to cause them to kill each other, Katniss plays by her own rules. But in the end, this may be reason for her trouble, because unlike the other people of Panem, Katniss does not want to be a symbol of Capital’s power.

Authors and readers alike all across the country rave about The Hunger Games: “The story kept me up for several nights in a row, because even after I was finished, I just lay in bed wide awake thinking about it….The Hunger Games is amazing,” said Twilight author Stephanie Meyer.

When I first heard the description of the book I thought I would not like the violent aspect of the story. But as I read I realized that while most of the book takes place during the time of the games, it is about so much more. So many emotions are all written into The Hunger Games and it is impossible to stop reading. If you enjoy The Hunger Games be sure to pick up Catching Fire, the second book in the trilogy. Sequels are usually never as interesting or entertaining than the previous book, but Catching Fire is a great read and I’m anxious to see what happens in the final installment, out in 2010.



  1. I loved this book. I have to get ctaching fire next. Check out my review on the hunger games.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: