Posted by: Staff | 02.22.2010

Supplementary Essay: Self Identity Essay by Tyler Starr ’10

TYLER STARR ’10

Self-Identity and personal expression take many forms. For example, music, clothing, politics, extracurricular interests, and ethnicity can each be a defining attribute. Do you surf or tinker? Are you a vegetarian poet who loves Ayn Rand? Do you prefer YouTube or test tubes? Are you preppie or Goth? Use the richness of your life to give us insight: what voice will you add to the Class of 2014?

            I speak through my goofy t-shirt and hat collection. Growing up like any other Boston sports fan, I had drawers full of Red Sox and Patriots apparel, but I have always had an affinity for offbeat, zany t-shirts and hats. On my little league baseball team, I was the only player who wore a Frank’s Hot Dog hat with a running sausage man on the front of it.

            My t-shirts and hats are a collage of my favorite sports teams, TV shows, movies, and bands, and wearing them has allowed me to share my interests with the world. My favorite aspect of my t-shirts and hats is the reaction I get from wearing them. I was once stopped in the airport because the security guard wanted to verify the legitimacy of my Montgomery Biscuits t-shirt. Almost every day, a teacher or classmate will ask me what my Aqua Teen Hunger Force t-shirt is or if the Danbury Trashers are a real hockey team, and I love the ensuing conversations. This year I was fortunate enough to hold a minor league baseball apparel competition with a new freshman. He and I would never have become friends if I didn’t wear my Bridgeport Bluefish hat to soccer practice.

As I dig through my drawers each morning, I ask myself, “Do I want to speak with someone about Girl Talk or the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles?” Then I choose my t-shirt.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

