Posted by: Staff | 02.25.2010

Supplementary Essay: Let Your Life Speak by Tyler Starr ’10

TYLER STARR ’10

There is a Quaker saying: “Let your life speak.” Describe the environment in which you were raised- your family, home, neighborhood, or community- and how it influenced the person you are today. 

            Growing up in a family as the third of four boys has taught me patience, diplomacy, and the importance of strong friendships. Through epic floor hockey games with my two spirited older brothers Jason, twenty-two, and Bradley, twenty, and my outgoing younger brother Clayton, thirteen, I have learned how to play hard, lose and win gracefully, and respect my opponents. Our friendships, however, extend beyond our marathon Wiffle ball and floor hockey games as we listen closely to each other at our often rambunctious dinner table. Though I am frequently responsible for the laughter we share, I am not afraid to express my thoughts on more serious issues as well.

            While we share a common love for Boston professional sports and Will Ferrell movies, we have always celebrated each other’s unique passions. Listening to Jason’s thesis presentation on an obscure Hindu sect, attending Bradley’s many plays, and cheering Clayton on at his various sporting events, has broadened my perspectives and interests. More than any other community or team, my family has shaped my character and made me appreciate the importance of honesty, friendships, and a good natured approach to life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

