Posted by: Staff | 03.08.2010

Wake Up in the Morning Feeling Like… Rene Castro

 AMIRAH MAHDI ’11

Before freshman, Rene Castro, came to Beaver, not many knew of him. Now that basketball season has ended, I’m sure everyone will know his name. Rene is one of the stars on the basketball team, even though he is a freshman. However, we only know what Rene is like on the court, but what about Rene off the court? This is Rene, behind closed doors.

Amirah: Any nicknames?

Rene: Papa, everyone in my family calls me that

Amirah: Who’s your inspiration?

Rene: Family members and of course, Kobe Bryant

Amirah: How long have you been playing basketball?

Rene: I started playing ball when I was nine

Amirah: When did you fall in love with basketball?

Rene: Ummmm, probably when I was eleven

Amirah: Would you like to play basketball professionally/in college?

Rene: I’m NBA bound!!!! I’m kidding, but I would definitely like to…

Amirah: Is there another profession you are interested in?

Rene: I like Math, so maybe a career in that area.

Amirah: Does anyone else in your family play basketball?

Rene: My uncle in Honduras played basketball.

Amirah: What’s your favorite sports team?

Rene: Probably, the Los Angeles Lakers.

Amirah: How do you like Beaver?

Rene: It’s different from my old school, but I like it a lot. It’s a good education.

Amirah: Do you train throughout the year?

Rene: Yes

Amirah: How many hours a week do you train?

Rene: About 14-15 hours

Amirah: If you didn’t play basketball, what other sport would you play?

Rene: I used to play soccer when I was younger, but basketball is the only sport I play now.

Amirah: Who’s your favorite teacher at Beaver?

Rene: I like my Physics teacher, Ms. Nicks. She’s cool.

Amirah: Who’s your favorite basketball player?

Rene: Kobe Bryant

Amirah: What do you like to do that is not sports related?

Rene: I like to hangout with my friends and go to the movies, sometimes.

Favorite Basketball Movie: Coach Carter

Favorite Type of Food: French Fries

Water or Gatorade: Gatorade

Favorite Clothing Store: AJ Wright

Favorite Fruit: Oranges

Favorite Pastime (other than basketball): Reading

Favorite Book: The Assist by Neil Swidey

How tall is Rene: 6’5’’, just kidding, 6 feet

Jeans or Sweats: I like wearing sweatpants. (Rene even has a pair of mustard colored sweatpants.)

Summer or winter: summer

Beyonce or Alicia Keys: Beyonce

Lil Wayne or Jay-Z: Lil Wayne

Favorite Junk Food: Doritos

Favorite Recent Movie: The Hangover

Fun Fact: Rene likes to sing the song “Tic Toc” by Keisha

Responses

  1. This Was Amazing! I love Rene Castro!!! #24 forr life!!

  2. AYYYYYYYY

  3. I LOVE HIM MORE HALEY!!!!

  4. Rene, you rock! So does AJ Wright, by the way! – Ms. Nicks.

  5. “Tik Tok” by Ke$ha, is the correct title and artist.

  6. MUSTARD COLOR! mm,

  7. Rene, Rene, Rene. I have so much to say about you. I look forward to playing basketball with you in the upcoming season, and I can tell you right now, it has been great so far, watching you grow as a player, but more importantly, as a man. I remember when I met you for the first time over the summer, and I thought to myself, “Man, I can tell this kid is going to be something special.” And who would have known, I was right. But, this is just the beginning of our friendship and of our relationship on the court. I can’t wait to see how next year turns out. There are high expectations for you, my man, and we all hope for the best for you. Where ever you may turn up, whether it be UConn, Providence, Kentucky, Oregon State, or Bunker Hill Community College, we are all here for you. I can’t wait for the day when I see you play your first game on national television, and Dickie-V raves about you, and I will brag to all my friends that I played with that young man. We all hope you live a wonderful life, and I would like to end this comment with a quote by someone you may have heard of. “Give me 10 hours to chop down an oak tree, and I will spend 9 hours sharpening my axe.” Think about it.

    Sincerely, Jacob Henry LiBassi

    P.S. DING DONG!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Jake I absolutely adore you and your beautiful comment! Your really sweet and I admire your passion for life, basketball, family, and Rene. I will miss your face next year when I’m at collegeee

  9. This is a great Article and Rene is one of Beavers best, but Jake Libassi is by far the best basketball player our school has to offer. He even has an article that was written before anyone from Beaver even knew who Rene is. That article can be found here:
    http://newspaper.bcdschool.org/2008/12/16/sharpshooter/

  10. Go check out the interview with Daisy Jordan … just saying


Leave a Reply

Categories

