Posted by: Staff | 04.12.2010

Catching a Segel

TYLER STARR ’10

Varsity baseball captain Danny Segel ’10 has played a large role on the team since his freshmen year. As the catcher, Segel helps run the team’s pitching program and develops strong relationships with the pitchers. With a new coach this year, Segel is ready to lead the baseball team to a successful season.

When did you start playing baseball?

Ever since I can remember

What inspired you to start playing baseball? How did you first get involved with the sport?

My parents signed me up for it, when I was a young lad, and ever since then I loved playing the game.

What position do you play?

Catcher.

As a captain, what are some goals you have for the team this year?

To finish with a .500 winning percentage, to be in the A bracket in the tourney (top four teams), and to have fun.

What is the biggest difference between this year’s and last year’s team?

The absense of  Clayton Marsh

Are you playing baseball outside of school?

Yup. Last summer I went to the IMG Academy in Bradenton, FL, and this past fall, I played with Northeast Baseball. This summer I’m either going to play legion ball in Newton, go down to the Dominican Republic, play in a men’s league, or tryout for new AAU team.

Is baseball your favorite spectator sport?

No, I love watching football.

Is baseball your favorite sport to play?

Definitely, I also like playing basketball, because you are always moving around. Baseball is much more relaxing.

How time consuming is your baseball career?

Baseball takes up a lot of my time, but I don’t mind because it is fun to play.

During the offseason, how do you keep in shape?

Luckily baseball shape and basketball shape are two completely different things. I still work hard at my game by playing, swinging a bat everyday and hitting the weight room, but I don’t watch what I eat.

Who has been the most influential coach, teammate, or family member on your baseball career?

I have had many coaches, mentors, and teamates, but I would have to say the most influential person in my baseball career is my father. He has always been there for me, watching me play from Florida to Newton, with many stops in between. Also he has kept me motiviated. Motiviation is a crutial element to your game if you want to play college sports.

What has been your favorite baseball memory at Beaver?

The top three memories that I have had as a member of the Beaver Baseball team would have to be: Deon’s stories on the bus, Coach Rob’s chew theory, and the game where I went 3 for 4 with a HR, 2 triples, 1 walk, 8 RBI’s and 2 runs.

Who is your favorite Red Sox player?

The hometown hero, Manny Delcarmen.

Is there a Red Sox player that you think you play similar to?

No, I wish.

What are some of the tactics the coaching staff is using to improve the baseball program?

The current coaching staff is trying to integrate a winning style.

What do you predict your record will be for this year?

7-6

FUN QUESTIONS:

Favorite movie: The Hangover

Favorite TV show: Gilmore Girls

Favorite candy: Heath Bar

Favorite subject in school: History

Avatar, Good or Bad? Amazing

Gatorade or Powerade? Gatorade

Coke or Pepsi? Coke

Anything else you’d like to say? Come see us play!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

