Posted by: Staff | 04.22.2010

Sheyda Serves A Winner

TYLER STARR ’10

After a sub-par season last year, the Girls Varsity Tennis team looks to have a rewarding season led by captain Sheyda Bautista-Saeyan ’10. Despite the loss of Sara Marsh ’09, new coaches Ms. Houser and Zach Rocha look to pull the team together and produce solid performances out of this year’s team. In Sheyda’s last year as a Beaver tennis player, she looks forward to playing her hardest and winning matches.

When did you start playing tennis?

I’ve been playing forever, since 7 maybe?

What inspired you to start playing tennis? How did you first get involved with the sport?

I always loved watching it on TV with my family. I started tennis at a summer camp called Tenacity, when I was about 7 or 8.

What seed do you play?

I recently just injured my shoulder, so currently I do not have a specific spot. But when I am not injured, I usually play doubles.

As a captain, what are some goals you have for the team this year?

The biggest goal I have for my team this year is to put in as much effort and hard work as possible to hopefully have a winning record.

What is the biggest difference between this year’s and last year’s team?

We have a much smaller team this year, but this year seems to show a more cohesive team. We have three new coaches this season, and hopefully that will lead the girls tennis team to victory this year.

Are you playing tennis outside of school?

No, not currently.

Is tennis your favorite spectator sport?

It is among my favorites.

Is tennis your favorite sport to play?

Second favorite, fencing comes first!

What part of your game do you feel needs the most work?

I really want to work on my serves, getting more power in my stroke.

During the off-season, how do you keep in shape?

Since tennis is a life-long sport, I usually play all year round. But to stay in shape, I usually will go on a run a few times a week.

Who has been the most influential coach, teammate, or family member on your tennis career?

My first tennis coach at my summer camp was most influential because, besides teaching me my first strokes, he taught me the manners of the court and how to be competitive.

Who is your favorite professional tennis player?

Nadal and Agassi are some of my favs. Can’t forget Maria Sharapova though!

What are some of the tactics the coaching staff is using to improve the tennis program?

Competitiveness and being aggressive are some of their key coaching tactics.

What do you predict your record will be for this year?

I don’t know what our record will be for this year, but we are aiming for a winning record!

FUN QUESTIONS:

Favorite TV show: Jersey Shore

Favorite subject in school: My advanced science electives

Avatar, Good or Bad? Amazing! Such great visual features!

Gatorade or Powerade? Water.

Coke or Pepsi? Coke!

Anything else you’d like to say? Tennis rocks and if you are even slightly considering it, come out and try it out next year!

Leave a Reply

Categories

