Posted by: Staff | 04.26.2010

Cradling Strawbridge

TYLER STARR ’10

One of the most under recognized teams at Beaver, Girls Lacrosse, is looking forward to a great season. With only one senior on the team this year, captain Alexandra Strawbridge, the team is fairly young but certainly motivated to improve their skills and intensity. Strawbridge is no stranger to the sport and has been a part of the Beaver program since Molly Swain’s (who currently plays at Division I BU) senior year in 2007. With a win in their first game against Gann Academy (14-3), this team has high hopes for a great season. To learn more about the lacrosse program and Strawbridge’s experiences at Beaver, here is a detailed interview on her lacrosse career:

When did you start playing Lacrosse?
Seventh grade

What inspired you to start playing lacrosse? How did you first get involved with the sport?
Well I played in Middle School at Shady Hill and the only other sport was track…plus all my friends were doing lacrosse.

What position do you play?
I play usually play attack wing, but I can play whatever, I even step in goal sometimes when Maddy can’t make it… that’s exciting to see.

As a captain, what are some goals you have for the team this year?
Winning would be amazing of course but I want everyone to love to play and to really take it seriously. I want to have fun this season but I also want to work really hard.

How are you, as a captain, trying to bring the team together? What kind of team spirit works for your team?
Well we are definitely experimenting with that, but I’d say we’re a music team, we like to have a good time. We’re are trying to spend more time together off the field like lunches and dinners. I think in order for a team to be successful that the team has to really understand and trust each other, I want us all to be close and get to know each other, I think that will help our chemistry on the field.

What is the biggest difference between this year’s and last year’s team?
Our team this year is a lot more in shape, and I think we all get along better. We all want to win, and it’s obvious in practice. The girls are all doing a great job pushing themselves and working hard.

Are you playing lacrosse outside of school?
I used to. I played for Rev for awhile, but sadly I “graduated”.

Is lacrosse your favorite sport to play?
Yes, definitely.

How time consuming is your lacrosse career?
Well I go throw around in the gym during the day sometimes, and obviously practice with the team, and I run over the week ends… so probably around 12 hours a week. It’s not too bad at all.

During the off-season, how do you keep in shape?
Mostly running, lacrosse is a lot of running, but I also got weights to do exercise
for my wrists/arms/shoulders, which is important too. But what’s really important is continuing to use your stick, playing wall ball, and passing with friends.

Are you planning on playing lacrosse in college?
If I played in College it would have to be as a walk on because I am still trying to decide if its something I really want to do. Especially for my freshmen year, it’s a really big time commitment, But I think it would be a lot of fun to play at the next level.

What are some of the challenges you predict this year’s team is going to run into?
The biggest challenge, for me, is going to be being a captain for the team this year. It is going to be really hard for me coming from teams in the past where the expectations were much higher and the game was much more intense. I think the challenge is really going to be finding a balance between teaching the girls about the sport, being a role model, and knowing when to have fun and relax a little bit.

Who has been the most influential coach, teammate, or family member on your lacrosse career?
Molly Swain who was the captain my freshman year was hugely influential for me even though she scared me. Also Lukas from Rev really taught me a lot about what lacrosse was really about.

What has been your favorite lacrosse memory at Beaver?
My sophomore year our bus would always break down. One time it broke down on the side of the highway, Michelle waved to an ambulance who thought it was a medical emergency and called 911, and we ordered pizza, which they delivered to us on the side of the road.

What do you predict your record will be for this year?
Well, I won’t jinx anything by getting too excited, but it’s going to be amazing so everyone should come watch us dominate

FUN QUESTIONS:
Favorite movie: I love anything Disney, or sci-fi, or fantasy
Favorite TV show: I’m super obsessed with Glee right now, but I also love CSI, House, Bones, and anything sorta like those. I always loved The Magic School Bus and Pokemon though.
Favorite candy: That’s a hard one, I have a bunch…It really depends on my mood.
Favorite subject in school: Math, Art
Avatar, Good or Bad? Amazing
Gatorade or Powerade? I guess I’d say Gatorade but only if its like above 90 degrees.
Coke or Pepsi? Coke
Anything else you’d like to say? Come watch girls Lacrosse!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

