Posted by: Staff | 10.07.2010

Eat. Sleep. BCDS Soccer. Interview of Two Freshman Recruits

SARAH GOLDBERG ’13, LAUREN LAPUCK ’13

This year Beaver was lucky enough to gain three freshman varsity soccer players who are new to Beaver.

 

Silmar Bueno '14 exhibits precise ball handling

 

Their names are Silmar Bueno, Zach LaCava, and David Price. We got to interview Silmar and Zach. Not only are they a great asset to the team but their hard work extends further than the soccer field. We hope this interview gives the Beaver community an inside look at these two exceptional student athletes.

What school did you go to before Beaver and where do you live?

Zach: I live in Wayland Massachusetts and I went to Wayland public schools.

Silmar: I went to Framingham public schools and live in Framingham Massachusetts.

How long have you been playing soccer and what position do you play?

Zach: I have been playing soccer since I was four years old so I have been playing for ten years. I usually play forward but at Beaver I play right wing.
Silmar: I have been playing soccer for eleven years and I play forward.

Do you play any other sports? Are you going to play any other sports at Beaver?
Zach: I play basketball, baseball, and I snowboard. At Beaver I want to play basketball and baseball.
Silmar: I do Brazilian jui jitsu.

 

Silmar Bueno '14 scores and celebrates

 

 

Why Beaver?
Zach: The soccer coach is a lot better than what I would have had at public school and the classroom sizes are a lot smaller.
Silmar: I toured the school and I liked the small classes so I e-mailed the coach and started talking to him. Being recognized for my talent at soccer along with the academic side is why I decided to come to Beaver.

What do you think makes a good athlete and soccer player?
Zach: You have to have passion and try hard. You also have to practice a lot.
Silmar: Determination, perseverance, hard work, focus, respect, and passion all combined makes a good athlete.

Why do you love soccer?
Zach: I love soccer because I feel like I’m good at it. Also my mom played soccer, so it runs in my family.
Silmar: It is my favorite thing to do and when I score a goal it is the best feeling in the world. Plus, I have fun doing it. My grandfather played pro soccer in Brazil and my dad played semi-pro in Brazil. So basically, soccer has always been a part of my life.

What is your strongest aspect on the team?
Zach: I have a good first touch and am good at playing the ball to my teammates.
Silmar: I have a lot of creativity on the field and it opens new doors for my teammates and adds a new playing style.

 

David Price '14 launches a ball downfield

 

 

What are your other hobbies?
Zach: I like to play other sports.
Silmar: I like to hang out with my friends and family. I also like to snowboard, and do jui jitsu.

What is one of your biggest goals in life?
Zach: One of my biggest goals is to play pro soccer.
Silmar: To be happy in whatever I’m doing. Soccer related I would love to go pro and play in the World Cup.

How do you like being on varsity as a freshman? What is it like?
Zach: I’m treated like everyone else on the team. I also get a lot of respect from other freshmen. You get to make a lot of new friends especially on a team with older kids. For example, you have the opportunity to meet people that you might have never talked to without being on the team.
Silmar: I have to show a lot more than other people do. I need to show everyone that I’m here for a reason and that reason is to make a difference. I am not looked at as a freshmen, but as a soccer player.

What is your favorite type of music to listen to or favorite singer? Zach: My favorite rapper is Wiz Khalifa.                                                            Silmar: I like hip hop rap, reggaetone, and techno music.

How do you distinguish yourself on the soccer field?
Zach: I’m the kid with the flowy hair and purple cleats.
Silmar: I’m the one with the big mohawk, neon yellow cleats and number ten shirt.

What is one place that you want to travel to?
Zach: I really want to go to Hawaii.
Silmar: One place that I want to travel to is Italy.

Favorite movie?
Zach: Stepbrothers
Silmar: Stepbrothers

Favorite color?
Zach: Blue
Silmar: Blue

Favorite food?
Zach: Steak
Silmar: Seafood

We are all looking forward to seeing what these two freshmen will contribute to the team and to Beaver, so come on out and watch boys varsity soccer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

